San Antonio Ethnic Art Society (SAEAS)' mission is to continually seek avenues and venues to promote an appreciation of African-American visual arts.

In the summer of 1983, Johnnye Yates and John Coleman discussed the possibility of forming an art organization. This discussion lead to famed collectors Aaronetta and Dr. Joseph Pierce, Dr. Gary Houston, F.L. "Doc" Spellman, Johnnye Yates and John Coleman incorporating the Southwest Ethnic Arts Society. The primary goal of the society was to increase the awareness and understanding of visual art of African-American ancestry. In the early 1990s, the society began allowing high school students to display their art at the Society's annual exhibits. The Society held its first Art Banquet and Awards Presentation on October 15, 1994. In February 2001, SAEAS was recognized at the San Antonio Museum of Art when former Mayor Lila Cockrell and Aaronetta Pierce exhibited art from their private collections. In the fall of that same year, members began teaching art after school to elementary school students in the San Antonio Independent School system, in conjunction with the Carver Cultural Center's 21st Century Program.

Presidents have included Johnnye Yates (1983-85), LaVern Britt (1986-1988), John Coleman (1988-1995), Claudette Hopkins (1995-2010), Gracie Poe (2010-2015, 2016 to present), Ron Turner (2015-2016), and Ronney Stevens (2016). Today, the 501(c)3 non-profit organization is a multicultural artist collective that hosts joint exhibitions and underwrites one-on-one arts training for San Antonio area youth ages 10-17. The members have exhibited jointly at the Institute of Texas Cultures, USAA, University of Texas Health Science Center, Central Branch of Public Library, San Antonio Water Board substation, Northwest Vista College, San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, City of San Antonio, Bexar County Court House, and annually at the Carver Community Cultural Center, among other venues.

Highlights Include:

1983 - Founded as the Southwest Ethnic Art Society by collectors Aaronetta and Dr. Joseph Pierce, Dr. Gary Houston, Johnnye Yates, John Coleman, F. L. “Doc” Spellmon.

1984 - Inaugural Exhibit, Sponsored by the San Antonio Chapter of The Links, Inc. at the Institute of Texas Culture.

1988-1995 - Membership was enlarged across ethnic lines and to include poets; high school students allowed to exhibit at SAEAS annual exhibits.

1994 - Society hosted its first Art Banquet and Award Presentation.

1995-2010 - Society changed name to San Antonio Ethnic Art Society launched annual “Lunch with the Artist”.

2000 - 501(c)3 non-profit status was acquired. Society arranged with Dr. Leo Edwards to host series of individual exhibits for SAEAS members at his eastside medical office.

2004 - SAEAS Youth Art Scholarship program was formed.

2010—2015 - Society recruited supporters of SAEAS to form the “Friends of SAEAS”, that included Dr. O.Raye Adkins, Gerri Buhl, Mae Thomas Gentry, Terry Hookstra, Clem Lyons, Yolanda Miller, San Antonio Zulu Association, Lon Taylor, Dr. Linda Holley, Adolph Thomas, Ronnie Washington, and Rachel Edwards; SAEAS “Honorary Board of Directors” was established and has included Mayor Lila Cockrell, Aaronetta Pierce, William Sinkin, and Dr. Leo Edwards.

2015 – 30th Anniversary Exhibition at University of Texas-San Antonio Ethnic Art Gallery.

Become a Member
What you write is totally up to you, there is no right or wrong way to complete your 'About Us' page.  We advise making your language friendly and approachable, while being informative and professional.
You can edit text on your website by double clicking on a text box on your website. Alternatively, when you select a text box a settings menu will appear. Selecting ‘Edit Text’ from this menu will also allow you to edit the text within this text box.